

# REPORT EXTRAORDINARY COUNCIL MEETING 3 OCTOBER 2024

**PRESENT:** Councillors J Black, L Butler, S Chowdhury, J Cowley, M Dickerson, R Ivey, K Richardson, A Ryan, P Toynton, P Wells and M Wright.

#### **ALSO IN ATTENDANCE:**

The Chief Executive Officer, the Director Organisational Performance, the Manager Corporate Governance, the Governance Team Leader, the Governance Officers, the Executive Assistant Mayor, the Director Strategy, Partnerships and Engagement, the Team Leader Corporate Communications, the Communications Partner, the Director Development and Environment, the Director Infrastructure and the Director Community, Culture and Places.

Chief Executive Officer Murray Wood assumed the Chair of the meeting.

The proceedings of the meeting commenced at 5.30 pm at the Dubbo Civic Administration Building, Council Chamber, with a prayer for Divine Guidance to the Council in its deliberations and activities read by Councillor Lukas Butler. The acknowledgement of country was read by Councillor Pam Wells, who also gave an Acknowledgement to Country.

#### CCL24/234 LEAVE OF ABSENCE (ID24/1574)

There were no requests for leave of absence.

# CCL24/235 METHOD OF VOTING FOR THE ELECTION OF MAYOR AND DEPUTY MAYOR (ID24/1569)

The Council had before it the report dated 26 September 2024 from the Chief Executive Officer regarding Method of Voting for the Election of Mayor and Deputy Mayor.

Moved by Councillor J Black and seconded by Councillor S Chowdhury

#### **MOTION**

That the method of voting for the election of Mayor and Deputy Mayor be by Open Voting (show of hands).

**CARRIED** 

**For:** Councillors J Black, L Butler, J Cowley, K Richardson, A Ryan, P Toynton, and P Wells. **Against:** Councillor S Chowdhury, M Dickerson, R Ivey, and M Wright.

# CCL24/236 ELECTION OF MAYOR FOR MAYORAL TERM (ID24/1570)

At this stage, the Chief Executive Officer as Returning Officer invited nominations for the election of the office of Mayor for the Mayoral term with the following written nominations received:

- Councillor Mathew Dickerson nominated by Councillor Phillip Toynton and Councillor Matt Wright.
- 2. Councillor Josh Black nominated by Councillor Josh Black and Councillor Phillip Toynton.

## **Acceptance of Nominations**

Councillors Mathew Dickerson and Josh Black have formally accepted their nominations.

In accordance with Clause 12 of Schedule 7 of the *Local Government (General) Regulation 2005*, each candidate's name was written on a slip of paper which was placed in a sealed canister and deposited into a barrel to determine the order of voting. The order of the names being drawn out of the barrel were as follows:

Councillor Mathew Dickerson was written first on the tally sheet and Councillor Josh Black was written second on the tally sheet.

A vote, by way of show of hands, was taken. The following votes were recorded:

FOR	FOR
COUNCILLOR MATHEW DICKERSON	COUNCILLOR JOSH BLACK
Shibli Chowdhury	Josh Black
Jen Cowley	Lucas Butler
Mathew Dickerson	Kate Richardson
Richard Ivey	Adam Ryan
Matt Wright	Phillip Toynton
	Pam Wells
Total: 5	Total: 6

As a result of the show of hands, Councillor Mathew Dickerson had 5 votes and Councillor Josh Black had 6 votes.

The Chief Executive Officer as Returning Officer declared that Councillor Josh Black is duly elected to the office of Mayor of Dubbo Regional Council for the duration of the Mayoral term.

Councillor Josh Black assumed the Chair of the meeting, the time being 5:42 pm.

## CCL24/237 CONFLICTS OF INTEREST (ID24/1576)

There were no Conflicts of Interest declared.

# CCL24/238 PUBLIC FORUM (ID24/1575)

There were no speakers during Public Forum.

#### CCL24/239 CREATION OF OFFICE OF DEPUTY MAYOR (ID24/1572)

The Council gave consideration to determining whether it would create the office of Deputy Mayor.

Moved by Councillor S Chowdhury and seconded by J Cowley

#### **MOTION**

That the Office of Deputy Mayor be created and operate for the duration of the Mayoral Term.

**CARRIED** 

**For:** Councillors J Black, L Butler, S Chowdhury, J Cowley, M Dickerson, R Ivey, K Richardson, A Ryan, P Toynton, P Wells and M Wright.

Against: Nil.

In accordance with Schedule 7 Section 1 of the Local Government (General) Regulation 2021, the Chief Executive Officer acted as the returning officer to conduct this election.

# CCL24/240 ELECTION OF DEPUTY MAYOR FOR MAYORAL TERM (ID24/1571)

At this stage, the Chief Executive Officer as Returning Officer invited nominations for the election of the office of Deputy Mayor for the Mayoral term with the following written nominations received:

- Councillor Phillip Toynton nominated by Councillor Kate Richardson and Councillor Lukas Butler.
- Councillor Matt Wright nominated by Councillor Shibli Chowdhury and Councillor Richard Ivey.

# **Acceptance of Nominations**

Councillors Phillip Toynton and Matt Wright have formally accepted their nominations.

In accordance with Clause 12 of Schedule 7 of the *Local Government (General) Regulation 2005*, each candidate's name was written on a slip of paper which was placed in a sealed canister and deposited into a barrel to determine the order of voting. The order of the names being drawn out of the barrel were as follows:

Councillor Phillip Toynton was written first on the tally sheet and Councillor Matt Wright was written second on the tally sheet.

A vote, by way of show of hands, was taken. The following votes were recorded:

FOR COUNCILLOR PHILLIP TOYNTON	FOR COUNCILLOR MATT WRIGHT
Josh Black	Shibli Chowdhury
Lucas Butler	Jen Cowley
Kate Richardson	Mathew Dickerson
Adam Ryan	Richard Ivey
Phillip Toynton	Matt Wright
Pam Wells	
Total: 6	Total: 5

As a result of the show of hands, Councillor Phillip Toynton had 6 votes and Councillor Matt Wright had 5 votes.

The Chief Executive Officer as Returning Officer declared that Councillor Phillip Toynton is duly elected to the office of Deputy Mayor of Dubbo Regional Council for the duration of the Mayoral term.

Councillor Josh Black assumed the Chair of the meeting, the time being 5:51 pm.

#### **REPORTS FROM STAFF:**

# CCL24/241 CASUAL VACANCIES DURING THE FIRST 18 MONTHS OF THE COUNCIL TERM (ID24/1573)

The Council had before it the report dated 26 September 2024 from the Manager Corporate Governance regarding Casual Vacancies During the First 18 Months of the Council Term.

Moved by Councillor P Wells and seconded by P Toynton

#### **MOTION**

That if a casual vacancy occurs within 18 months after the 1 October 2024 Local Government Election, the methodology for filling such vacancy be by countback of votes, as allowed under Section 291A of the Local Government Act 1993.

CARRIFD

**For:** Councillors J Black, L Butler, S Chowdhury, J Cowley, M Dickerson, R Ivey, K Richardson, A Ryan, P Toynton, P Wells and M Wright.

Against: Nil

# CCL24/242 DETERMINATION OF COUNCILLOR REPRESENTATION ON MANDATED COMMITTEES (ID24/1568)

The Council had before it the report dated 26 September 2024 from the Manager Corporate Governance regarding Determination of Councillor Representation on Mandated Committees.

Moved by Councillor S Chowdhury and seconded by Councillor R Ivey

#### **MOTION**

Against: Nil

- 1. That Councillor Richard Ivey be the Councillor representative, with Councillor Shibli Chowdhury the alternative, for the Audit, Risk and Improvement Committee.
- 2. That Councillor Jen Cowley be the Councillor representative, with Councillor Phillip Toynton the alternative, for the Local Traffic Committee.
- 3. That Councillor Matt Wright be the Councillor representative, with Councillor Adam Ryan the alternative, for the Floodplain Management Committee.
- 4. That the above representatives will serve on the committees for the duration of the Mayoral Term.

**CARRIED** 

**For:** Councillors J Black, L Butler, S Chowdhury, J Cowley, M Dickerson, R Ivey, K Richardson, A Ryan, P Toynton, P Wells and M Wright.

The meeting closed at 5:58pm.

CHAIRPERSON